How to take money from Wick

I wonder how Lauren Cureton feels about this “New FrontBurner.” She works in advertising at D Magazine and can’t be thrilled with the loss of page impressions sure to come from the No Comments era.

FrontBurner, like nearly every other Web site with advertising, charges advertisers based on page impressions. A page impression, of course is what happens every time you load a page. Here are some of their rates, courtesy of Lauren herself:

50,000 impressions        =          $1,437

100,000 impressions      =          $2,625

200,000 impressions      =          $4,250

There are two ads on FrontBurner: the banner and the tower. So let’s assume they’re both paid ads (though they frequently are house ads instead). That means that each time you visit FrontBurner, you could be giving Wick Allison nearly 6 cents.

50,000/$1,437 = $0.02874… multiply that by 2 (for two ads on the page) and you get $0.057 per impression.

Load the page 10 times in a day, and Wick has received 57 cents courtesy of you.

That’s the extreme example, since advertisers may choose for the better deal of buying 100,000 or 200,000 impressions. But you get the idea.

As you can see, it’s important for Wick that people return to FrontBurner throughout the day. I reloaded that page probably 50 times a day when I was commenting there, but, of course, I don’t do that now. The point is this: Less reason to return throughout the day will mean slightly less revenue for Wick. 

Want to really stick it to him? Use the RSS feed at the top right of LodoWick. Rather than checking back with FrontBurner to see if there’s a new post, just look there first. If there is and it looks interesting, sure, click and read it. If not, save the 6 cents.

11 Responses to How to take money from Wick

  1. towski says:

    I’m not interested in “sticking it to Wick”, nor is it MY 6 cents. I just enjoyed the discussion, and wish it hadn’t gone away.

  2. Hooray says:

    Good post until the “stick it to Wick” part. I don’t wish ill on anyone. I just want an outlet where I can disagree with a point of view or someone’s arrogance. They need a watch dog just like they are the DMN’s watchdog.

  3. Aron says:

    Agreed Hooray. Dallas doesn’t need less comments, it needs more blogs that aren’t all in bed with each other like a DCC for media.

  4. RayRay says:

    Maybe it was a little much. But if they see a drop in revenue, they’re more likely to turn comments back on.

    And let’s be clear about one thing. Wick doesn’t need any more money. He’s doing just fine.

  5. Daniel says:

    I don’t hate or loathe Wick Allison, and the state of his fortune affects me not one whit. I sometimes do, however, find him a faintly ridiculous figure — the word that comes to mind is “vainglorious.”

    If he can make a successful go of FB, and even grow the D empire, without allowing blog comments, well, more power to him. But I suspect he’s merely being, er, vainglorious.

  6. Jack E. Jett says:

    D Magazine serves no purpose to a majority of Dallasites. Most of us live in the “cheap seats” that they seem to despise. I wonder how much longer they can afford to pay the supermarkets to keep such a publication at the check out stand. I have never seen one be purchased. They always look like they were freshly stocked. I have never see one in any home or business I visit. Hey, but again, I live in the cheap seats and not on some high horse and the last person I would trust for a reference for a Doctor is Twyla Tharp Rogers.

  7. towski says:

    Nice Twyla drop, Jack. BTW, she’s going to be at the Nasher on May 14th. Tickets are still available. Plug plug!

  8. towski says:

    You’re right, Ray. I apologize for mentionint that Twyla Tharp will be the guest at the NasherSALON lecture series on May 14th. Or that Jaap van Zweden is the guest on April 29th, and that a few tickets are available for that one as well. Truly, I am sorry.

  9. Jack E. Jett says:

    towski

    do you know how old twyla tharp is and do you know if she smokes?

    all the older classic dancers have those amazingly thin bodies which i assume is due to a diet of caffiene and nicotine and non stop exercising.

    i could so easily do the caffiene and nicotine part of that diet……and i could slick my hair back,but i would look like OctoDad in a pair of tights.

  10. towski says:

    Jack,

    She’s allegedly 68. I can only assume/hope that she smokes, and that she has the same voice that Michael Kors’s mother had on an episode of Project Runway – the “I love my cigs and my stories” kind of voice.

    Should be a lot of fun!

    Towski

Leave a Reply

